Healthy Meals & Exercise Week 2

20160109_072413First, a glamour shot of my look for the opening of  the Mead Room at  the Carlsbad Art Museum. (Roderick F Mead was my boss, Elaine’s (at Candlewood) father. Apparently,  He was part of the  avant-garde movement in Spain and France in the 30s and studied under Picasso. I learned so much about him. What a life she and her family have lead!

20160109_071411

 

Week One was a success! I lost 3 pounds from holiday weight so that is very encouraging. I had a few slip ups here and there…and had to learn how to control my hunger again. As always, my wonderful husband was my cheerleader. He really is my everything!

I joined Daily Burn and use it on my Xbox (and once on my Samsung Note 3). I’m really loving it. My favorite trainer is Keaira LeShae – she does Cardio Sculpt kick boxing and the MOVE! series which features different types of dancing. It’s INTENSE! I do miss running on the treadmill though so I may do that today just to spice it up a little. Also, they have a calorie burn listed on the end of each DB workout but I don’t know if I should be counting that so I always lowball myself. I really just need to get a FitBit that tracks a heart rate.

Looking for new recipes, I stumbled across an article I’d saved on Facebook from Cooking Light. All of the recipes are 300 calories or less. I’m really trying hard to shift the bulk of my calorie intake to the beginning and middle of the day. I’ll also do my best to post the links for recipes this time!

Mon, Jan 11th:

***Notes – I used to be very fruit oriented in the morning, but I learned something important from a friend who had gestational diabetes. Your body will metabolize fruit better in the afternoon.

Tues, Jan 12th:

Wed, Jan 13th:

  • Breakfast:  Eggs with Pinto Beans, Cheese and Salsa
  • Lunch: Leftovers
  • Dinner: Pork Chops stuffed with Spinach & Feta with Mashed Cauliflower & Roasted Green Beans ( http://www.myrecipes.com/m/recipe/pork-chops-stuffed-with-feta-spinach

Thursday, Jan 14th:

***Also, for roasted asparagus – I always use a little olive oil, lemon juice and fresh minced garlic. Roast at 400 degrees for 10 to 15 minutes depending on how thick the stalks are!

Friday, Jan 15th:

  • Breakfast: 2 slices Turkey Bacon and Scrambled Egg
  • Lunch: Leftovers
  • Dinner: Eat out, leftovers or chef’s choice

Saturday, Jan 16th:

***The salad is really easy. I just toss everything in lime juice, garlic, a little olive oil, chili powder and salt. It really depends on what you like! Use grape tomatoes for a better flavor.

Sunday, Jan 17th:

Well, there it is. We did well this week, but skipped Friday because of an event that came up. So, we have extra tuna steaks for another night. Also, this is NOT all that I eat. I snack…because I would starve to death if I didn’t. Some of my favorites are bell peppers & celery because they satisfy you without adding to your calorie count. Also, baby carrots, apples, pink grapefruit and the occasional Greek yogurt. I will also be making a fruit salad this week for Chris & I. The main thing with fruit (and even some veggies) is to remember that it’s not a freebie. Fruit has sugar and you CAN have too much. And, at night, Chris has Little Pops from See’s Candies. They are Butterscotch, Café Latte, Vanilla and Chocolate flavored. 4 pieces are 60 calories and they really take the edge off. The flavor is divine. (http://www.sees.com/lollipops/little-pops/)

Have a lovely & healthy week everyone! It’s time for me to clean and get on the that treadmill!

 

Leave a Reply

