Turkey Sausage Skillet with Apples, Onions & Sweet Potatoes

I LOVE the combination of apples, onions, and sausage. It is heavenly. This recipe originally started with turkey sausage, zucchini and summer squash. My husband couldn’t find summer squash at the store since it’s not really the season for it and we live in the middle of nowhere. So, I had zucchini….and I had some left over chunks of sweet potatoes from a week ago when I made mashed potatoes. Zucchini and sweet potato together just didn’t sound right to me but I figured I’d wing it. Then, I looked at the yellow onion in my veggie bowl and thought that would be yummy browned up with the sausage. Well, now the zucchini was really outnumbered. Last minute, I reached up into my fruit bowl and pulled out a pink lady and a gala apple (that desperately needed to be eaten) and my decision was made. I have made a pork chop recipe with apples and onions before (not low cal – boo!) and it’s just so good when it cooks all together. And so a new recipe was born. Ahhhhh…..

(Sorry, no pictures….I always remember to take a picture after I’ve started chowing down).

You Will Need:

  • 1 Oscar Meyer Selects 14oz uncured turkey sausage, sliced then quartered to make bite size pieces
  • 1 large yellow onion, peeled, spiral sliced
  • 2 medium apples, peeled and cubed (about 1 inch sized) (Pink ladies and honeycrisps have the best flavor!)
  • 1 large sweet potato, peeled and cubed (about 1 inch sized)
  • 4 large cloves of garlic, minced, divided (Or more…cause garlic is the best)
  • 1 T + 1/2 T olive oil
  • 1 T butter (you can omit this if you’d like but it really helps brown everything)
  • 2 tsp sage, divided
  • 2 tsp cinnamon, divided
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. Throw sweet potatoes into boiling water for about 6-10 minutes, depending on how firm you’d like them. (I did it for 10min and they were pretty soft. This made for a little mashing in the skillet which tasted fine) Drain and set aside.
  2. Heat 1 T oil on medium high heat (about 5 oclock on the dial) in a 12 inch or larger skillet. Toss in garlic and let it get brown but not burnt.
  3. Once garlic is browned, add sausage. Let it brown.
  4. Add 1 tsp sage, 1 tsp cinnamon, and salt & pepper. Let sausage cook until edges are somewhat crispy. Set sausage aside.
  5. Add butter, 1/2 T, of oil into the pan. Let garlic brown as before.
  6. Add sweet potatoes, onions and apples. Let them brown for about 5 minutes, occasionally stirring for even cooking.
  7. Add remaining spices and stir. Cover. Cook for another 5-10 minutes or until onions are soft, keeping in mind that it’s high heat and not sauté.

My husband LOVED it…just complained that I didn’t use enough garlic. We are garlic fiends! In hindsight, I didn’t divide between meat and produce so it got unevenly distributed.  We had this meal with a spinach and arugula salad with balsamic dressing (our main salad).

The best part? A 1.5 cup serving is only 302 calories according to MyFitnessPal! You can either do 4 1.5 cup serving or 6 1 cup servings. Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

